“It’s a long way down to the place where we started from”

Day 10 – A Song That Makes You Fall Asleep

Ice Cream – Sarah McLachlan

This song always makes me feel all safe and like I’m rocking in a hammock, or something equally chill.  It doesn’t so much “put” me to sleep, as it “lets” me feel like I could, maybe, sleep.

Which isn’t nothing.

Because lately, sleep hasn’t exactly been the most attractive place.

The dreams have been a little ugly.  Tragedies befalling children I can’t help.  The misplacing of a co-worker, with the grim certainty that he’d met an unpleasant end.  And last night?

Last night I dreamed of trying on swimsuits.

 

(It was bad.)

6 responses to ““It’s a long way down to the place where we started from”

  1. Please don’t tell anyone i like this song, they’ll revoke my man card…

  2. I’ve never heard this song before, mostly because I usually stay far away from Sarah McLachlan, but I don’t mind it…even though I want to find someone else to sing it. But I like the words.

    Also, trying on bathing suits is the main inspiration for most horror movies, but it’s too terrifying for them to actually include it in the films.

    • “Also, trying on bathing suits is the main inspiration for most horror movies, but it’s too terrifying for them to actually include it in the films.”

      Top 5 Rass Quotes Ever.

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has dreams of co-workers meeting untimely ends. (Even the ones I like, sometimes.)

    I love the song, though. =)

    • I seriously wanted to jump out of bed and get the guy on the phone. But we’re not exactly close, so that would have been pretty weird.

Leave a comment