“I can’t care about anything but you”

Day 6 – A Song That Reminds You of Somewhere

Lovefool – The Cardigans

1997.

Backseat of Shaundra’s car.

Reunited with all the friends I’d left behind.

Singing out of tune.

Leaving the West End of Lethbridge.  Swooping down Whoop Up Drive.

Singing even more out of tune.  And louder.

Knowing I won’t be this happy for very long.

Revelling in it.  Greedily.

10 responses to ““I can’t care about anything but you”

  1. Ahh yes. Flashbacks. Great. And a good song, too.
    Mine was from 1970 – and not a good song.

  2. It’s a song that begs to be sung along to

  3. Vonnegut attributed this to his Uncle Alex: “…his principal complaint about other human beings was that they so seldom noticed it when they were happy. So when we were drinking lemonade under an apple tree in the summer, say, and talking lazily about this and that, almost buzzing like honeybees, Uncle Alex would suddenly interrupt the agreeable blather to exclaim, ”If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.””

    Here’s to Uncle Alex. And The Cardigans.

  4. What Vonnegut and Daisy said, and i’d like to add “if this isn’t nice, i don’t know what is.” in other words i’m enjoying this immensely

  5. You’re so good at simply conveying emotions. I have to write a bajillion paragraphs to get a small point across.

    When I worked at the video store this song played on Muzak. I would hear it once an hour. I didn’t mind the song until Muzak destroyed my life.

Leave a comment