I Was Just There

I (might) have a special ability.

I have this uncanny knack for being in the wrong place at the right time.

On more than a few occasions, I have been in a place that shortly thereafter, is the site of unpleasantness.

One time, it was a stabbing at a business in the same parking lot where the kids and I had been picking up diapers at a drugstore, not a half hour before.

Another time, it was a machete wielding robber at a hair salon where my son had just put a hairdresser through the wringer, a mere 5 minutes previously.

It happened again today.

I didn’t intend to go to that store.  I meant to go to a drugstore that hadn’t been in that location for at least 5 years.  But I got mixed up.   And settled for that store.  I left maybe half an hour before the roof fell in.

You can accuse me of magical thinking, or rampant narcissism, but I think they’re valid questions:

Do I have a prescient ability to avoid disaster?

Or am I a harbinger of chaos?

2 responses to “I Was Just There

  1. Dude, your shit is bonkers. Here’s the plan: from now on, immediately after you leave an establishment you must tell them that something terrible will probably happen soon after your departure. Unfortunately, people are going to think you’re threatening them, but fuck ’em if they can’t take serious advice. We’ve seen the movies.

Leave a Reply

