“Following the girl I didn’t even want around”

Day 3:  A Song That Makes You Happy

I Want You Back – The Jackson 5

Not just a happy song, a song that MAKES me happy.  I can’t not be happy when I hear this one. It hits that spot in my brain and turns off the cynical and cranky and turns on the get-down-with-your-bad-self lobe (whose existence hasn’t actually been scientifically proven, but I’m pretty damn sure it exists).

Just listen to that little kid sing about highly adult emotions.  You know he’s only ten, but when he gets to the end, the really angsty “OHHHH”s, damn, you know he means that shit.

Once upon a time, I worked for a family who ran a business out of their house.  And family and business got wound up, every now and again, for better or for worse.  Mostly for better.

My boss is running some numbers, chain-smoking, and watching Nick at Nite.

An episode of American Bandstand comes on.  The Jackson 5 are rockin’ it.  My boss calls her kids into the living room.

“Hey guys, that little kid singing, do you know who that is?”

None of them do.

“That’s Michael Jackson!  When he was a kid!”

The kids keep staring.

Finally, one of them speaks for the group, says what they’re all thinking.

“Uh, mom?  That can’t be Michael Jackson.  That kid’s black.”

8 responses to ““Following the girl I didn’t even want around”

  1. My happy video is at Dose Aurally as Needed = Happy

    I haven’t heard this Jackson 5 song for…possibly…30 years!

  2. that kid was right. you do know i did this shameless ploy for x-mas right? all the videos, and am sort of doing it again for Women’s History Month, yeah it’s the lazy person’s way to post but at least it makes me type something. keep it up.

  3. Totally agree. This song makes me happy too. It currently heads up my ‘durdlin’s happy music’ playlist.

  4. That is one boppy song, for sure. 🙂 Hard to be morose when that is playing.

    Here’s my happy song http://www.quadelle.com/2011/03/a-night-to-remember/

    • “hard to be morose when that is playing”. It’s as if my kids sensed you’d thrown down a challenge. Because when they heard it, they couldn’t STAND this song.

Leave a Reply

