I Submit

And thusly, we begin another round of Holidailies.  Posting every day for a month.  Enjoy.  Or whatever.

 

My name is Ginny, and I am a Christmas hater.

 

It wasn’t always that way.  I remember liking Christmas, when I was a kid.

 

But the years went on.  And things got complicated.  And I got complicated.

 

Until finally, Christmas just made me sad and empty.

 

I have two kids, for whom I try not to ruin things like Christmas.

 

But it was getting really hard.

 

 

 

This year has been crazy rough.  Financial issues that I thought would end me.  Half my family moved thousands of miles away.  Job loss.  Separation.

 

If ever there was a year to sink into cynicism, boy howdy, this’d be it.

 

Which is why I cannot BELIEVE what my instincts are telling me this year.  But every bone in my body, every fiber of my being – wants to buy into it, this year.

 

I want to eat the food and watch the specials and drink the eggnog (oh fuck, do I want to drink the eggnog) and go the the Christmas concerts and listen to the cheesy ass carols and just generally wallow in all that is traditional and gaudy and shiny about this time of year.

 

I can’t deny the appeal of this, and it will always hold a special place in my wizened heart:

 

 

But this year….

 

 

Hey, I’m as shocked as you.


Holidailies 2010 Badge

25 responses to “I Submit

  1. Go on, buy into it! Hell, supersize it, even!

  2. As a fellow Christmas hater, I implore you to resist the urge to buy into all the xmas crap, you’ll hate yourself on New Year’s morning.

  3. You make me want to put up the tree.

  4. Get lost in it! It can bring a lot of joy, so after the ear that you’ve had? Why the hell not?

  5. You are a traitor.

    But I am so ridonkulously happy about your reasons for being so that it all balances out…

    It all balances out…

  6. so long as you don’t start wearing those cutesy chrismas sweaters and jingle bell earrings and elf shoes and shit like that? i think it’s ok…

  7. Get uncomplicated, it helps everything. I dig x-mas and not just cuz i give my dad subscriptions to nudie mags, i like the lights when i sit in bars, i like watching the kiddies get all happy and shit, plus after the holidays it’s nothing but crappy weather and short days. enjoy.

    oh yeah and i’ll just respond to this for you… duuude!

  8. I LOVE CHRISTMAS! MORE CHRISTMAS! IT SHOULD ALWAYS BE CHRISTMAS!

  9. I loathe this time of year(I won’t even say the C word). However, I totally get that when life is flinging you lemon after lemon, it might be prudent to put the lemonade making on hold to plunk down in a comfy chair with a little nog and let the merry making in.

  10. I just posted about being behind this year (again) and about being all bah-humbug this year. I hate being “meh” about Christmas. It’s a lot of work, but I’ve always been able to rationalize how worth it it is. And I’ve finally got a man in my life who loves Christmas and I want to enjoy it.

    But what I wouldn’t give to go back to the days when I was the Christmas cookie eater, rather than the baker.

    And the couch potato whose only responsibility is to sit and watch the entire 24 hour marathon of A Christmas Story.

    • You remind me of a friend whose rant ended, “Well of COURSE men believe in Santa longer than women! They wake up, and Christmas just fucking HAPPENED!”

      (Christmas-lovers are a surprisingly diverse and influential bunch, aren’t they?)

  11. You go girl! Buy into it! What have you got to lose?

    Though I have to say that the Christmas season gets to me to the point where I get kinda blurry and kinda slurry. And then I caught myself saying “Holly Happidays” when I rushed out of a store to go home and finish the wrapping.

    Then my friend made me a card with the Fonz wearing a santa hat. His thumb was up, and the cartoon bubble came out of his mouth. “Holly Happy Days.”

  12. I am not a huge fan of Christmas either… give me Halloween any day please and thank you.

    By the time January comes around I am almost homicidal at the sight of red and green!

Leave a Reply

