On The Fives

When I turned 15, it was a little lame.  My best friend’s birthday was the day after mine, and she was way more popular than me (it wasn’t her fault – it’s just the way it was) , so everyone decided to just celebrate her birthday, and throw me the occasional, “Oh yeah, and you too, Ginny.”  Plus, I had a chin zit.  For, like, 3 straight months.

When I turned 20, I wanted to cry.  Twenty seemed like a death.  When I played pretend games as a kid, my characters were never, ever, older than 19.  Why would they need to be?  Nineteen was old enough to vote and drink and own property.  Twenty was planting a foot squarely in adult territory.  A foot I couldn’t just pull out and then shake all about.

When I turned 25, it was kind of novel.  Quarter of a century.  Didn’t feel a whole lot different than 20.  I was married, but childless without any meaningful plans to be otherwise.  Plus, it had been a whole month since the Y2K bug failed to end it all, so we were all a little euphoric that a false crisis/bit of media tomfoolery had ended well.

When I turned 30, it felt surprisingly good.  Substantial.  Concrete.  I was a grown up, and I didn’t feel lame or old, fuddy or duddy.  I had a kid, but still, I just didn’t feel that old.  Maybe it was the shock that I wasn’t shriveled up and eating dinner at 4:30 that made 30 feel surprisingly good.

Today is 35.    Thirty five is a bit of a mash up.  I get zits next to my wrinkles.  I laugh at fart jokes on the way to very important press conferences.  My hairdresser found the first grays (that I was doggedly convinced would always be undetectable, if they ever appeared at all, due to my inherent blondeness).  My doctor not so gently reminded me that now is the time to start cramming in the calcium.  Despite the occasional misstep, I like myself, feel more at home in myself, generally got it going on, more so now than at any other point in my life.

Today, I will be at a conference, as part of a job I love.  Then, I will come home and see my babies, and they may or may not remember it’s my birthday, and it will be OK.  And I will end the day with people I love.  And like.  I might eat cake.  I will drink wine.

It will be a good day.

(Mosaic Images: 1. The Number Thirty-Five, 2. thirty five, 3. Thirty-five, 4. Thirty Five, 5. Cat Diesal Thirty Five, 6. Thirty-Five, 7. Thirty five script, 8. Catch Thirty Five, Chicago ——– CHI_DSCN9776, 9. thirty five)

63 responses to “On The Fives

  1. Happy birthday! I’m freshly 32, and surprisingly unfazed by that. 28 was the weird one for me. You see, I had outlived all the dead rockstars and THAT thought was depressing to me. Lol.

  2. If you didn’t know how old you were, say an alien ship dropped you here as is on Earth. No mirrors. How old would you think you were?

    The only time I ever sort of felt old was when they brought my first child in for me to hold him for the first time. That’s when it hit me my name changed to “Mom.”

    Wishing you the very best Ginny Day today and may the wine flow freely.

  3. 35 is so young! Happy happy birthday Ginny xx

  4. Gefeliciteerd!

    as they say here

  5. Happy Birthday Ginny! I hope I handle 30 as well as you.

  6. Happy Birthday!! 35 is stil young. I figure when George Clooney stops being hot I will start to call myself old. I reckon he’s still got it 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday!
    Feb 5th is my little brother’s birthday too. He is 19. He got a hamster from his girlfriend.
    Considering how well my mom and grandma are doing, I don’t think I will feel old until at least 70. Then again, at 21 I don’t even feel grown-up at all. Ah well…

  8. Happy Birthday! Enjoy the day and the year!

  9. sounds like a great day! happy birthday… i liked 35. and i’ve mostly enjoyed the entire ride since then…. and that was 12 years ago!

  10. Happy Birthday, and many happy returns of the day! I think we must all have at least one birthday that we freak out over. Mine was my 17th. Total meltdown. A friend’s mother walked me through it. I’ll be 43 in about two weeks, and I’ve never sweated another birthday since that one. I hope you never get the age horrors again, either!

  11. If you were an American, you could run for President. That’s what I thought when I turned 35 last year. Hey, I could run this joint.

  12. Happy Birthday Ginny – 35 sounds like it will be a great year for you.

  13. Happy Birthday Ginny! Enjoy the day and your family and the wine. And more wine.

  14. Happy Birthday! I hope you have a great day.
    30’s are WAY better than the 20’s ever were

  15. Happy bithday!

  16. Happy Birthday 🙂

  17. Happy birthday you young thing!!

  18. michael.offworld

    What an awesome happy birthday to me post. You are aging well.

  19. happyfuckingbirthday, i’m classy like that, hope the wine was good, if this is incoherent it’s cuz i was digging out of two feet of snow and felt the need to eat a few painkillers to take the edge off the back cuz i ain’t 35 no mo, hell i was 35 when Kid A was born and this year i will move on to my next decade and realize i’m now closer to AARP than say the legal drinking age… now have a glass on me there Virginia.

  20. Happy birthday! I hope it was a fabulous day for you, and that you have a great year ahead. 🙂

  21. Happy birthday, you! Hope you had a fantastic one!

  22. 35 is the new 25:) Enjoy the day!

  23. Happy belated birthday! Yay!

  24. Happy belated birthday! What a good plan!

  25. Uh, sorry I’m a little late to the party, but I hope it was a great day!

  26. Happy Birthday, Ginny. From a few years ahead of you I can tell you that it keeps getting better. So far.

  27. Hippo Birdie Two Ewes! The great thing about belated birthdays is that you get to keep celebrating…

  28. Happy belated! (yes, I’ve ignored the blog world, as I tend to do in the winter months.)

    I’m envious of your relative birthday calm. Turning 25 was a major crisis. It’s been months and I still haven’t gotten over the “Holy crap I’m a grownup! Why don’t I have a house? A better career? I’ve got gray hairs and I’m running out of time!!!” anxiety freak-out thing. Maybe it’ll dissipate by the time I hit 30 and have a whole new set of things to freak out about. 😛

    Enjoy the wine! 😉

  29. Happy Belated, 36 was my odd milestone, you know, closer to 40 than 30. Happily, it matters for about 10 minutes and then puff, it’s gone and I forget if I’m 35,36, or 37, husband has to remind me.

    Happy Birthday G.

    • I always jump ahead a year. Most of my friends are a couple years older, and I just lump us all together.

      (Judging by the photographic evidence, I thought you were younger than me. By a fair bit.)

  30. Happy day after your birthday! I hit the middle age milestone last year (40!!) and while I thought it might seem somewhat significant, I don’t feel all that different from 39 (and 38 and 37 and blah, blah, blah). Hope you had a wonderful day yesterday (and today, too). 🙂

  31. happy d’day!!!!
    I’m getting in a 5 denominator next month… the big 3 O….
    scarry… 🙂

  32. Happy belated birthday – I hope it was a good one.

  33. Happy birthday Ginny.. (And I will dare say it after all) God Bless you.

    Nancy

  34. Happy 35 Ginny. From your genius scribblings here, which never fail to make me laugh, yes, OUT LOUD, I can only tell you that you have much to be thankful for, and thus wish you the happiest of birthdays. I remember 35, sort of, and now I’m the opposite (?) number of years, 53. But come June that’s over, and I’ll be 6×9. Still, those 5s keep coming. No matter.

  35. Happy belated birthday! Sorry I’m so late on this. I turn 35 this year also (1975 was apparently a very good year!)

Leave a Reply

