My Christmas Confession

I bought my mother in law “Julie & Julia” on DVD for Christmas.

Part of me is giving it to her because I think she’ll like it.

And another, altogether more sinister part of me is giving it to her because I know, in my heart, in my bones, in my spleen, that once she’s watched it, she will deliver this sublimely awkward proclamation:

“The girl in the movie, Julie, she had something called a blog.Β  You used to try writing, maybe you should get one of those.

Ask Owen to help you set it up.”

(Movie poster image from here. WordPress screenshot from here.)

15 responses to “My Christmas Confession

  1. Delightful.

    Simply delightful.

  2. my survival technique for the family visit is just this: Predictive Anthropology. predicting what they will say and do… oh, this is festive! you’ll have to let us know if it works!

  3. My survival technique for family visits is wine and selective hearing. Like daisyfae, I can’t wait to hear if it works. And how you decide to respond.

  4. Can’t wait to see if your prediction comes true.

  5. I have a kind-of-sort-of-not-really connection with that movie that I can’t really divulge at the moment.

    Useless I know.

  6. funny!

    oh…ya hit on my husband…i’ll break ya face!

    totally kidding…merry christmas!!

  7. Brilliant! Definitely let us know your accuracy hit.

    Plus, have a very merry Christmas! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

