Willkommen! Bienvenue! Welcome!

If you were here a year ago, you might remember Holidailies.

Wherein I promised to blog every damn day for a month. But not just any month – December. The craziest, most out of control month on the calendar.  Last year, I was busy.  This year, I’ve added a full time job into the mix.

Despite the craziness, the busy-ness of this time of year, I loved Holidailies last year.  (It may have been the only thing that kept me sane.  Ish.)  So every day, from now till January 6, I’ll be here.  Daily.  For better, or oh-good-god-why-won’t-she-shut-up-worse.

If you are new here, if you came over from the Holidailies page, then as the title of this post says, Welcome!

Poke around, find out as much or as little about me as you want.  And since this is the festive season, I think one of the quickest ways to get to know me is to hear about my favorite Christmas carol.  Or, more specifically, my favorite version of my favorite carol.

When I was a kid, in middle-of-nowhere-Canadian-prairie, we got two TV channels.  Two.  Nowadays, if my family misses the 6:30 showing of “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas”, we can catch it on another channel at 7:30.  Or 8:00.  Or next week.  Or wait for the live-action Jim Carrey version.  Not so when I was a kid.  It came on once, and there was no PVR, and you either watched it or you didn’t.

So we fell into the habit of taping damn near everything that came on TV during the month of December.  On a couple of VHS tapes, that no matter how much we adjusted the tracking stayed snowy, and just got snowier.  If you were to sift through the detritus of my childhood, you’d probably find the tape, in an orange box, labeled “DON’T TAPE OVER”.  That was the tape with  A Claymation Christmas Celebration on it.

Nope, that's not poop.

For those of you born after 1985, the Claymation clan included the California Raisins.  Shriveled grapes designed to market raisins to me, they also sang a jive version of “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”.

We were obsessed.  My sisters and brother and I couldn’t stop singing it.  If we started it, we had to finish it.  Four little white Canadian kids doing their very best blues version of a Christmas classic.  And the fun didn’t end in December.  Oh no.  No, we’d watch that snowy VHS tape right into the summer, butchering harmonies, channeling our inner Arethas.

This Christmas finds the four of us as spread out, geographically, as we’ve ever been.  Between us, we’ve brought another four little kids into the world.

I miss my sisters and brother.  I’m sad I won’t spend Christmas with them.  But the one thing that makes me feel a little closer?  That any time any of us hears the song, or sings it to one of our kids, whether we mean to teach it to them that way or not, it will be the Raisins’ version.

“Hey RUDOLPH!  C’mon and guide my sleeeeiiiigh!”

26 responses to “Willkommen! Bienvenue! Welcome!

  1. Hello!
    Wandered over from Holidailies. I am looking forward to reading more during the month. Great intro! I can completely relate. I have my VHS copy of A Claymation Christmas in a box somewhere. I finally bought the DVD for my sister a couple of years ago. We loved the jazzy “We Three Kings” version. Good memory!

  2. Well, there’s 2 minutes 56 seconds of my life I’ll never get back. 😉

  3. oh, god. please tell me you did the dance moves, too?

    (and now that you mention it, it does look like poop)

  4. Well, call me a cab but I enjoyed it. It could be the pain meds and coffee or just the fact that I too am born to funk.

    F. N. Wagnalls

  5. Noooo – it can’t have been a year already????

  6. Claymation Christmas Celebration was just plain awesome. I miss it.

  7. OMG! I completely forgot about that special! My brothers and I lived for that special! Thanks for the memories!

  8. Woohoo! Now I’ll have my daily dose of snarkiness. I hope it’ll be enough to keep me going through the long, cold San Diego December.

    I wonder what happened to the California Raisins. They took the music industry by storm and appeared unstoppable, and then they dropped off the radar. They should do a ‘Where are they now’ episode on them. They probably got involved with drugs and had a falling out over artistic vision. That’s usually what happens with the mega-star acts.

    • Long, cold San Diego December? There’s a foot and a half of snow out front, and I’m fairly certain it’ll hit minus 40 this week. Suck it up, Nancy.

      But I think you’re right about the Raisins. I think I heard that one slapped a stewardess a while ago. Sad business, that.

  9. Hey Rudolph, with your nose so BRIGHT, come on come on come on and guide my sleigh to-night, yeah.
    Hands down, best part. I was just thinking about this yesterday…and singing it…and YouTubing it…

  10. Oooh and the Carol of the Bells, and the skating part, man I wish that was on again…

  11. There is no way on god’s green earth I’ve got time for Holidailies. Hell, I barely have time to read blogs and work and stuff. UGGGGGH.

  12. That was the first time I have ever seen that, and hopefully the last!

    I fell upon your blog during holidailies last year and have been reading you ever since. Looking forward to reading your daily blog!

  13. Ah, yeah. The California Raisins – brilliant marketing campaign, we watched that religiously for three or four Christmases.

    • This, right here, this is why I blog. Because I honestly thought that outside of my sisters and brother, no other human would know what the hell I was talking about.

      And the campaign never worked, because I never did like raisins.

Leave a Reply

