To Tell the Truth…

So I’m procrastinating the crap out of my evening, not doing laundry, not cleaning up in anticipation of my mother-in-law’s impending visit, and I’m watching a little TV.

 

I’m watching “Medium”,

doing the usual:  wondering how Patricia Arquette is so damned cute, despite that weird, cross-eyed, snaggle-toothed thing she’s got going on, and trying not to be insanely covetous of her character’s perfect husband, Joe.

 

Tonight’s outing involved Patricia’s psychic character, Alison, becoming a “human lie detector”.  She hears a loud, game-show buzz in her head, every time someone lies to her.

 

Annoying as shit as a plot device.  But interesting, nonetheless.

 

If you could, would you?

 

Would you want to know, with 100 % certainty, every single time, whether or not you were being lied to?  Would you need to make a distinction between the big lies, and the little ones?

 

Would anyone want to hang out with you, once they figured out you had this ability?

 

Is your bullshit tolerance as high as you think it is?

22 responses to “To Tell the Truth…

  1. The super power I really want is invisibility. Oh the havoc I could wreak…..

  2. she became a lie detector for one episode? then next week, the power is gone? WTF? this is probably why i don’t watch anything but jon stewart and “weeds”…. the logic faults would scramble my brain…

  3. 98.4% of what you hear each day is bullshit. troof is hard to come by.

  4. Nope. I have no interest in such powers.

  5. OHHHHHH, I totally want it. I want it I want it I want it.

    Liars? Thwarted.

    Even though I think my bullshit detector is reasonably high as it is. I would argue that the majority of people who operate cash registers and wait tables and work in the service industry in general are highly susceptible to both lying to customers and sniffing out when they hear a lie froma customer. It’s just something that you learn to spot.

  6. I would not want to know every time my hubs was lying about my ass being fat. Seriously, there are some things I’d prefer to be in the dark about.

  7. I don’t want to know…I figure people are mostly good but sometimes it’s better not to know the truth about things. Mel Gibson almost went crazy in what women want…and he’s crazy already…think about how crazy it had to make him in order to make a crazy guy go crazier…none of what I just wrote makes sense.

  8. i don’t want to know…

    i especially don’t want an annoying gameshow buzzer alerting me to a lie. it’s bad enough that the asshole is lying to you…but, to also have to listen to that god-awful sound ringing through your ears.

    plus, i know a lot of bullshitters!! the sound would likely fill my every waking hour!!

  9. As a really great liar, I can spot them coming a mile off . . . usually. My problem is no one believes me. And that sucks.

  10. Oh no hell no.
    Unless it has to do with those creepy people that just started working at the convenience store up the road.
    That? I want to know about that.

  11. I definitely would not want to be a human lie detector. Or a mind reader. My self esteem couldn’t take it. I’m definitely with Nurse Myra – invisibility all the way.

    And I’m with you on Patrcia Arquette – she is goofy looking and attractive all at the same time.

  12. I have zero tolerance for bullshit. So I wouldn’t want the gift at all.

    I would like the ability to know exactly what the Vietnamese women at my nail salon are talking about, though. THAT would be funny.

  13. Oh absolutely not. In fact, I wished some people lied more. Like my boss. Couldn’t she just tell me what I want to hear? That I am amazing and full of brilliance? It would make everything so much easier.

    Really? You think Joe is perfect? I always find him a bit condescending, don’t you think? He’s always like, “Hey, those are just dreams, lady. Now stop being all special and psychic and get the kids ready for school, why don’t you.” Or maybe it’s just me…

  14. I’d want to pick and choose. I only want to know if I knowing would bother me less than not knowing.

  15. I wouldn’t want that super power. At all. I think there are some things I’d rather not know. First and foremost, the truthful answer to the following questions: 1. Do I look fat? 2. Do you like my new haircut? 3. Are you having an affair?

    Maybe I’m crazy for not wanting to know. I’m like that Sheryl Crow song: Lie to me. I’ll promise I’ll believe. Lie to me, but please don’t leave. Pathetic? Absolutely. Hey, I never said I wasn’t.

    Thanks for reminding me why I never watch Medium. I watch that show Lie to Me, which is awesome but terrifying. They teach you all these tactics for detecting when people are lying by their body language. Obviously, I don’t want to know. And now my husband thinks he’s a super spy. “Honey, your eyes are looking up and to the left, which is classic for lying.” Ugh.

  16. nursemyra: Oh dear. I can’t even begin to imagine the possibilities.

    daisyfae: Once she resolves the issue, the quirk-of-the-week goes away. (I love Weeds, too. So good.)

    kono: And 83 % of all people know that statistics can be manipulated to make them say whatever you want.

    Southern (in)Sanity: Noted. I don’t think I do, either.

    Rassles: Working the service industry didn’t help me. I just assumed EVERYONE was lying, after that. Fuck, I’m jaded.

    formerlyfun: Again, I just assume he’s always lying. I think he’s the one person I might want to have the detector with.

    O.G.: And yet, I followed it. Scary, huh?

    Nikki: I kind of thought that, too. Like, if it was a subtle note, or something, it might be bearable, but a buzzer might just put me over the edge.

    faemom: So you just need other people to have the buzzer?

    mongoliangirl: Ooooh, sounds like a good post…

    vinomom: Exactly. What if all the people I think are talking about me actually ARE?

    Kathleen: Again, I really don’t think I want to know. “This white giant’s feet are DISGUSTING!”

    chad: I don’t find him condescending. I find him nurturing and protective. Don’t you wreck this crush for me!!!

    Jessica: I don’t think it could work that way, though. I think you’re all in, or all out.

    Gwen: You’re not pathetic, you’re honest. Oddly enough, I think I’m with you on Number 3. If I don’t know, I don’t have to do anything. At least, I think that’s how I feel. I don’t know.

  17. dewd. U get hella commnts.
    I WOULD LOVE TO BE ABLE TO KNOW WHAT PPL RLLY THINK i want to know the truth.
    h8 lies and manipulation.
    (that’s just me,tho)

  18. carrie: People in general, yes. But those really close to me, I don’t know.

  19. There’s no way it would be a good idea for me to actually be able to know if other people were lying to me. All the ass-kissing I’ve accepted in my corporate tenure suddenly whisked away from me? Dear God, no!

  20. Emerald: Ass-kissing isn’t always lying – more like having a maleable view of the truth.

  21. I love the Medium. I’ve never missed an episode…

    I have a natural ability to tell when someone is lying- now, determining if what someone is saying is the truth is a bit trickier because I’m THAT cynical. My default setting is, “oh, shaw right!”

    The only way I’d want the full buzzer ability is if I could turn it off at will. Who wants to hear a buzzer when someone tells you, “You’re the best I’ve ever had!”. BUZZ!!!

    No thank you!

    Now, at a restaurant, “Hey, did you spit in this?” “No” BUZZ “Take it back.”

  22. mtnlover: Holy crap, I never even thought about restaurant situations!!! Worth it just for that!!

Leave a Reply

