Mokita

I came across a list of words.

 

Words from other languages.  Words that sum up whole concepts.  Words we lack, in English.

 

The Germans have the word “kummerspeck”.  Basically, it means “grief bacon”; the weight you put on when you eat out of worry.

 

The Russians have “razbliuto”:  the feeling you have for a person you used to love, but don’t anymore.

 

My favorite was “mokita”, from New Guinea.

 

 

The truth that everyone knows, but no one will speak about.

 

 

 

 

 

(image is “the moment of truth“, by elsakawai)

13 responses to “Mokita

  1. Great word, it even sounds neat. I think every family has a little mokita.

  2. I love “kummerspeck”

  3. Oh I am going to start using mokita immediately as it is something I run into on a regular basis.

  4. Grief Bacon – that’s a classic. I will be using Mokita thanks for the vocab lesson.

  5. I posted once about a Swedish word “Lagom” that has no equivalent in English. It means not too much and not too little.

    http://writinggrandmasbook.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/lagom-no-word-in-english-for-this/

  6. Well, we could say that we’re feeling “Verklempt” couldn’t we?

    Talk amongst yourselves…

  7. My mom once told me that after my sister died shortly after childbirth; everyone said she died because she was too beautiful to live. This would have been a Mennonite Low German saying. I think it helped get through a tough time.

  8. Forget that. I know the truth, and I will speak of it.

    Beer is good.

  9. formerlyfun: Not just families. Pretty much every dynamic has some. Or maybe I just need to start being more honest.

    nurse: I looked at that word twenty times. It never seemed salacious until you got a hold of it. Bless your heart.

    cardiogirl: It’s also a brand of coffee makers in Europe. So don’t be surprised if some people get confused.

    O.G.: Yeah, I liked that, too. I’ve currently got some grief bacon hanging over the waistband of my jeans.

    writinggb: I remember that! Good word.

    Beej: Here, I’ll give you a topic: the Holy Roman Empire was neither holy, nor Roman. Discuss.

    Joan: That is so sad, and so beautiful. Thanks for sharing it.

    Rassles: You are truly a leader of men. Rassles in ’12!!

  10. I swear on my life, the Dutch have a ‘word of the year’ every year.
    Just before xmas they announced the 2008 winner.

    Straight up, the word is ‘swaffelen’ derived from ‘swaffel’.

    This is what they chose as their word of the year, above all, I’ll let you google…

  11. Oh man, I can just picture the Dutch National Spelling Bee:

    “Becky, your word is ‘swaffelen’.”

    “Um, can you use it in a sentence?”

    “I’m currently serving 5 years for swaffelen in front of the local grammar school.”

  12. Greif bacon is great, i definiately need that in my vocab.

    A good one in Spanish is verguenza agena – it’s when you feel shame for a person that should be ashamed of themselves but is not.

    One word we have in English but that is not present at least in Spanish is procrastination. I don’t know how the Spaniards get by without that word.

  13. bluestreak: That is so good! Now, if only I could say it without butchering the pronounciation.

Leave a Reply

