Je suis un peu fatigué

For you non-cereal-box-french speakers, that’s “I’m a little bit tired”.  Plus, I was looking for a way to sum up the year that was.  So you get this meme/list/half-assed attempt at a post.  We’re still cool, right?

 

Where did you begin 2008?

In my living room. Leaving a trail of disgusted Trivial Pursuit losers in my wake.

What was your status by Valentine’s Day?

Married.  Still.

Were you in school (anytime this year)? 

I’ve been in a school twice a day, 5 days a week, taking my son to kindergarten.  And way too early 2 mornings a week to volunteer with a before-school athletics program.

Did you have to go to the hospital?

Just to visit. I think that’s the first year that no one has been to the emergency room.  I’m gonna go knock on some wood, now.

Did you have any encounters with the police?

Last week, they knocked on my door, to ask if I’d “seen anything”.  My next door neighbor got broken into, while I was home.  So did the neighbors on the other side, this past summer.  I was home for that one too.  Didn’t see anything that time, either.   (You know, if I was the cops, I’d be looking a lot more closely at me.)

Where did you go on vacation?

Montreal.  We could have gone to Hawaii for cheaper.  But it was pretty great.

What did you purchase that was over $500?

About 3 square feet of my house (I think they call it a “mortgage payment.”  Banks, and their crazy lingo!)

Did you know anybody who got married?

Probably, in that “I’m friends with them on Facebook” way.  But I didn’t go to any weddings.  I’d really like to go to a wedding.  Would someone just get married, already?  (Don’t be a wimp – just do it.  If it doesn’t work out, divorces are cheap and plentiful.)

Did you know anybody who passed away?

Not well.  No funerals.  But when I saw my grandparents last week, they were doing that giving-away-all-their-shit thing that old people do when they think their time is almost up.  So, 2009 could be a different story.

Did you move anywhere?

Couch to fridge, fridge to couch.

What sporting events did you attend?

The Grey Cup.  My team wasn’t in it, so I didn’t really care, but the trip was great.  Also, two highly competitive Slo-Pitch tournaments in southern Alberta.  (Update:  My toenails never did fall off, but one’s still purple.  Because you were wondering, weren’t you?)

What concerts/shows did you go to?

The Foo Fighters.  My boyfriend Dave did NOT disappoint.  (We are so in love.)

What has/have been your favorite moments?

That one time when my kids got along for 3 minutes.  Pretty sweet.  The 2-year old potty training herself.  Figuring out the 5 year old could read.  And that time I ordered 6 McNuggets and got 7.  (I’m a simple, simple person.)

What’s something you learned about yourself?

I don’t bend that way.

Any new additions to your family?

My first niece/nephew should be popping out in February.  I’m quite excited to get all the cribs, playpens, baby clothes, etc. out of my house.

What was your best month? 

Everything except February.  February was kind of a mean bitch.

What music will you remember 2008 by?

Weezer’s Red Album.  I liked it, Owen liked it, and the kids have done a LOT of air guitar to “Troublemaker”.

Favorite nights out?

The one where Owen & I got all drunk, and we got heckled by a comedian and then he decided that he dances, now.  That was crazy.

What do you want to change in 2009?

NOT a tire at the side of a busy road.  That’s no fun.

Overall, how would you rate this year?

I think 3 out of 4 dentists would have recommended it.

What would you change about 2008?

More fuchsia.

Other than home, where did you spend most of your time?

My son’s school.  Where I learned to let go, learned how hard teachers work, and learned that if I can just teach my kids to flush, I’m doing better than 90% of the people out there.

Change your hairstyle?

Yes.  This is what I remember asking for: “I’d like bangs, a couple of inches off the bottom, and I’d like to go a couple of shades darker.”  What she heard:  “Make me UGLY!!”  It didn’t go well.

Get a new job? 

No, but oddly enough, last night I dreamed that I had been hired by Home Depot to run workshops for men, teaching them to write their emotions in their diaries.  (Expiry dates on egg-nog are just suggestions, right?)

Be honest – did you watch American Idol?

Until Jason Castro was gone.  I loved the hell out of that little stoner.

Start a new hobby?

For about 3 seconds, I considered scrapbooking.  Then, I put down the crack pipe.

What are you wishing for in 2009?

For my portfolio diversification plan to pay dividends (i.e. win the lottery.)

13 responses to “Je suis un peu fatigué

  1. mortgage, yeh, I’ve heard of that one…. We’re trying to get a new one … without a friggin balloon payment the size of Manhattan.

  2. It sounds like you had a good year! And Dave is mine. BAck up.

  3. I have to say…it was a damn good year!

    I loved J.C., too…and I ain’t talking Jesus Christ! He’s from my hometown…still not talking about Jesus. Yep, that’s as close as I’ll get to fame…driving the same streets as an American Idol reject!

  4. ha ha ha ha! Excellent! This is the ONLY meme I’ve ever read that I liked. And I still didn’t like the questions. Only your answers.

  5. ginny grohl…..has a nice ring to it. 🙂

  6. I’ve been meaning to check out the Weezer album. And, as luck would have it, I have just enough Pepsi points left to download it from amazon. So . . . here I go . . .

  7. I am laughing my ass off at that – AND I am so jacking it for my blog. It will make a great new years day post, although mine will not be as funny. I think I like the Fuscia part best.

    Happy friggin’ New Years – and you won’t be jealous of my party when I drown in the pond this year! I’m fairly certain you won’t be jealous of my hangover on New Years Day either!

  8. I snorted while laughing.

  9. writinggb: Interest rates are low – good luck!

    Maria: In most cases, I think you could take me. But where my boyfriend Dave is concerned, I think I’d be like one of those mothers who can suddenly lift a car off her child: I’d fuck you up. (Love you!)

    nikki: Eeek! Have you ever SEEN him? He’s one of the most inappropriate crushes I’ve ever had.

    mongo: Thanks.

    gina: One time, someone actually found the blog by using the search term “Ginny Grohl”. I was in heaven, all day.

    tysdaddy: Cool!

    Vinomom: Hope your party was all I imagined it would be.

    debbe: That, my friend, is a compliment of the highest order.

  10. Foo fighters and Weezer? you are so cool with me ginny 🙂

  11. Nursemyra: The Foos are my favorite band, Everlong is my favorite song of all time. I wonder how Weezer feels about 2 year old girls reciting their lyrics?

  12. Everlong is one of my favorite tracks on the new Guitar Hero. I’m no Dave Grohl, but I kick ass in my own special way . . .

  13. Just catching up on the blog and I couldn’t help but notice the part referring to the upcoming birth of my child. This is really awkward, but I feel I have to let you know…you’re not the aunt. I’m sorry, I shouldn’t have waited so long to tell you and not like this. I hope we can still be sisters.

Leave a Reply

