All Work and No Play Makes Ginny…Something, Something.

I will NOT complain about how hard it is to be a stay at home mom.

I know there are working moms who would give their left one to stay home with their kids.  I’m pretty damned lucky.

But the toll this gig takes on my sanity can be a little steep.  Seeing as how I never actually go home from work, there’s not a whole lot of “down time”.

 

Here is a small sampling of things I caught myself saying in the last week:

 

“No footbaths in the lego!”

“Why do these scissors smell like pork?”

“Dinosaurs didn’t have penises OR vaginas!  They just WERE!”

“Please!  Quit kicking your pizza!”

 

Yeah, I need a wee break.

 

As luck would have it, a vacation is in my future.  On Wednesday night, the husband and I are packing up and getting the hell out of town for 5 days.  (Where am I going?  I’ll give you a hint.  It’s not too big.  It’s not too small.  It’s just the size of, well, itself.)

In that time, I would have posted at least once.  and I don’t want to be one of those negligent parents who goes off for a week and leaves their children at home, to survive on toilet water and raw pasta.  So I’ve enlisted a babysitter for the blog.

I have a feeling she’s the kind of babysitter who would have invited boys over, and drunk her way through the liquor cabinet.  But at the same time, they’d be nice boys, and at least she wouldn’t try to replace the purloined booze with water.  Her name is Rassles.  Some of you know her, all of you should.  Be nice.  I’m only paying her 3 bucks an hour and all the popsicles she can eat.

 

Until next week, au revoir!

17 responses to “All Work and No Play Makes Ginny…Something, Something.

  1. Be safe and have a blast!

  2. I sooo could have underbid her, but the content might have been lacking. Watered down booze? How about all water, no booze. Hmmm… maybe you made the right choice. 😉 Enjoy your time away. Take care.

  3. Have a great time. And you’re right. Dino’s had neither thus leading to their extinction. That is my theory anyway.

  4. Two things:
    I think you SHOULD complain about being a stay at home mom. I have no kids and would give my left (do not cuss on Ginny’s blog) to hear those stories. Complain away just for me Ginny. Complain away.
    And…uh…Rassles? This place is going to be so enTIREly (do not cuss on Ginny’s blog) up when you get back!
    Have a blast on your vaca!

  5. Have a great trip Ginny and if it’s Vegas, win some money!

  6. Have a super trip, you and the hubby.

    And, in my imagination, the T-Rex is hung like a very large horse. With uber-balls. He’s bad ass!

    And you used “purloined,” one of my absolute favorite words.

    Peace . . .

  7. Oh, I’m gonna miss you!!

    But I SOOO envy you the vacation! Enjoy!

  8. God, don’t get me started. Zach is properly a toddler now. And it’s raining on our Papa Son Party Day so we’re STUCK IN THE HOUSE. (It wasn’t supposed to rain in Australia, drought my ear). Today he has decided:
    1. That he will eat only bread.
    2. That he will not sleep.
    3. That power points are the only toy worth playing with.

    I’m thinking of going back to 5 days a week…

    Have a great trip!

  9. Shut up, Mongo.

  10. oooh… this sounds dangerous…

  11. I hear ya, Ginny. As I sit here typing, my daughter is emptying out a file cabinet next to me. And it’s not even 7:30AM yet. Its gonna be a long day….Have a great vacation you lucky gal!

  12. YEY!!! WOO HOOO!!!

    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG overdue.

    I am so happy for you.

  13. “They just WERE.” Quality.

  14. Have fun!

    Really, no discussion on how dinasaurs pee or reproduce?

  15. Rassles, I´m coming over with the wine coolers. I hope those people have twinkies.

  16. michael.offworld

    Second to the Captain’s comment. Great. Falls into the “because I said so” category.

Leave a Reply

