“How do you feel about frilly toothpicks?” “I’m FOR ’em!”

George Carlin passed away a couple of weeks ago.  That’s too bad.  He was funny, groundbreaking, downright venerable.

But you wanna know who I really miss?

Mitch Hedberg.

If you can watch this, and not laugh at least ONCE, well, then, bucko, you’re dead inside.

Enjoy.  Have a lovely weekend.

]

13 responses to ““How do you feel about frilly toothpicks?” “I’m FOR ’em!”

  1. He leaves me breathless in an ADHD kind of way. So quick. I like how he smiles at his own jokes too.

    M

  2. Well, I guess I’m alive, then! I LOL’ed through the whole thing. Senor Scholl!!! Rice is ideal when you want to eat 2000 of something. Setting toothpicks free. This guy’s a scream.

    I had a difficult day, so this was a lovely end. Tomorrow will be better for having ended on a good note with a hearty laugh tonight. Thanks for sharing — I’ll have to show this to the family tomorrow!

  3. Pretty steady giggles by the end. Who IS this guy? I have to go google him now.

    My biggest laugh of the week — go to Youtube & search ‘My Brain Hurts’. An old favourite with new meaning for me…

  4. Michael: ADHD. Or, the effects of years and years of drug addiction. And I don’t even care. I love that guy.

    Writinggb: He’s done the same for me, on many crappy days. Glad I could make the introduction. You’re probably most of the way to Scandinavia by now, and I can’t wait to hear about the trip. (For real. I’m not just being polite.)

    Tara: I found him in 2005…right before he died. But, much like Tupac and V.C. Andrews, he is still crazy prolific in death.

  5. I.
    Love.
    Mitch.

    Seriously, I can recite him front to back and often do so if not for party entertainment then for my own enjoyment, regardless of the funny looks I get when I suddenly jump into a one person monologue about ducks and subway sandwiches or the unlucky nature of the name Bob.

    So glad someone else can appreciate the genius.

  6. So I read your title and immediately thought, “Fuck yeah, that guy kicks ass on the yo-yo. Of course she loves Hedburg. Chick keeps getting cooler. Now I have to be cooler. Dammit.”

    Then I saw the still shot of the video, I was all, “Yeeees, Michael Jackson.”

    Which just proves that even when I know what I’m talking about, I have no idea what is going on.

  7. Em: I know, I know. Screw the purple people. We’ve gotta draw the line somewhere. Unless they are suffocating. Then, you should help them.

    Rassles: kicks ass on the yo-yo? No, no, my dear, it is ME who needs to keep up with YOU on the scale of coolness. And the fact that you thought that was MJ on the video makes me laugh so very hard. Because DAMN, that does look like him.

  8. Holy bitch slap batman, I love Mr. Hedburg too! My friends smoked weed with him out side of one of the comedy clubs in Raleigh the last time he came through our area before he died. I was first introduced to Mitch (the comedy, not the person) when I was on mushrooms, high from about a quarter of weed, and coked out of my mind. I was helping build a studio in the basement that I ended up living in for the next few months. Needless to say, he blew my mind. Never been able to look at koalas the same way.

    My Favorite Quote:
    “I used to be on drugs. I’m still on drugs, but I used to be on them too!”

  9. Thanks for stopping by, Josh. For such a badass, you and Em are as adorable as teddy bears that poop cupcakes 🙂

  10. I miss Mitch too. Dr. Acula! 🙂

    I’m glad they still play him on the XM Comedy stations.

  11. Welcome, struggling writer! That was where I got my reminder; I was listening to satellite radio and Mitch’s bit about club sandwiches (the extended version) came on. I laughed so hard I cried, and then I think I cried a little bit longer because he’s gone. Damn him.

  12. Mitch was one of my favorites too. I embarrassed myself a couple of years ago at work when I stated he was my favorite comedian and I was dying to see him live. Guess I wasn’t that loyal of a fan because I was the last one on the planet to he of his passing.

    “Escalators can never breakdown. They can only become stairs.”

  13. I’m not sure why, but I find that anecdote incredibly endearing, Billy. (Must’ve gotten into the kids’ Prozac Gummis again. I can’t have just one.) At any rate, welcome.

Leave a Reply

