YAAAAY DEMOCRACY!!!

This morning’s paper said that voter turnout in our provincial election was going to be at an all time low.  No real issues.   Lackluster campaigns.  Light flurries throughout the day. No one was going to vote.

I am so damn contrary, I ran right out and voted.

I still get a (geeky) little rush when I vote.  As a 16 year old, I couldn’t wait to be part of the electoral process.  I knew the parties, their entire platforms, the players, the issues.  I railed against the injustice of the legal voting age being 18.

It makes me sad that I can’t just vote with my heart, like I would have at 16.  Now, my wallet, and foresight (which, incidentally, would lead me in 2 different directions), both play a much bigger part than I could have imagined. 

But the process still thrills me.

7 responses to “YAAAAY DEMOCRACY!!!

  1. I wish everyone got that giddy over rocking the vote. Cynicism and apathy has consumed the whole of our society. 😦

  2. I’m a great big cynic, Maria, so I’m actually quite shocked at myself on this one.

    But my little sister said she went out and voted as a result of this post, so maybe giddiness is catchy.

  3. I am shame-faced and mortified. I have missed a vote. Again. I knew it was coming. Kept forgetting to check when. Didn’t discover it was today until today in the middle of sneeze 3 of a 5 sneeze set while my little guy coughed and moaned with fever on the sofa waiting for the medicine to kick in…

    So, thank you – thank you for your enthusiasm. Perhaps it will help to cancel out some of the negligence and failure on my part. *sigh*.

  4. I always vote even though my party is outnumbered 8 to 2 in my county.

    Politics absolutely fascinates me.

  5. Oh Sulya! I’m so sorry little man is out of commission! My kids turned into zombies overnight too (glossy eyes, rivers of snot, some mild barfing, but only on his royal O-ness, so that’s OK;) )

    Not to belabor the point, but the candidate who won in our riding only did so by 168 votes…. If it ever happens again, call up one of the campaign offices & tell them you need someone to look after a feverish pre-schooler if they want your damn vote. They’d crawl over themselves for the photo-op!!

    Kitty, I agree, and feel like it’s even more important to vote when you’re the underdog. Or maybe I just really like the song “The Underdog” by the band Spoon. It’s awesome. Go check it out. (I thought of you on the weekend, Miss MCR, when I saw a T-shirt that said, “I wish my lawn was emo, so it’d cut itself.” So horrible, so funny….)

  6. We are due to vote on Saturday in what has been a slanderish shit fight of a political campaign. We are at that closing point now where they bombard you with images of candidates posing with the elderly or holding babies to show off their softer side. In non voting season I doubt any of these candidates would stand up for the elderly on a bus or hold a baby without a plastic apron and gloves.

    Thrilled I am.

  7. “a slanderish shit fight ”

    That is so fricking great, I can’t even tell you how much I love it.

Leave a Reply

