Thankful: 2012

Well, hell, this has been a crazy-ass year.

Not that much has changed.

I still live in the same house. I still have the same job.

Everything has changed.

My kids are getting huge, and more awesome by the day. There were some pretty major cast changes around here.

And today, I sit here, thankful for every damn thing.

I’m thankful for:

The gap in my baby girl’s smile.

The way my son sweeps his hair from one side of his face clear to the other.

The roof over my head, the lights that are still on, the cable tv & internet that keep streaming through this house.

The boys I work with.

Cheese.

Heated seats in vehicles (still).

Free healthcare.

Wine.

Sweat Pants Parties.

The Foo Fighters.

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

My relationship with my ex-husband. Which has transcended a whole lot of bull shit, and settled nicely into the closest we’ve been to friends in the 19 years (HOLY JEEBUS WE’RE OLD) that we’ve known each other. And his kick-ass girlfriend. Who bakes a cupcake that will make you see god, and is funny as hell, and takes really great pictures

 

My friends.  Who continue to listen to my jabbering, and take my calls, and put up with my borderline neglect, and continue to sparkle.

 

 

 

 

And a guy.

 

A guy who makes me smile wider and more recklessly than I ever have.

 

And who quietly persisted, and waited for me to see what an incredibly huge deal he was.  Never pointing it out, waiting for me to come to the realization all by myself.

 

And who makes me sigh all the god damn time.

 

 

Things are good.

12 responses to “Thankful: 2012

  1. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY

  2. yippee! welcome to ‘the other side’. it’s good here. and not just for the cupcakes…

  3. Woo hoo! So glad to see you are still kicking and still snarky. We missed you!

  4. So happy you are you in all of the ways that you are. It has been a rough year or so for me, good husband, terrible mother and tons of gratitude for it all, painful though the growth may be. Lots of love and wishes for many good things for you and the fan ahead.

  5. This may be my favorite of all your posts! I’m terribly glad for your happiness and contentment! Long may it last!

  6. It’s lovely to see you back and no worse for the wear. Happiness and smiles-all very good things and I’m thrilled for you!

  7. Hooray! Contentment is contagious. So nice to read you’re on the upswing. Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. michael.offworld

    wonderful to read…

  9. Made my day!!!! Welcome home.

  10. Well shit, see what happens when i get laid off and have time to go and peruse all the old places i used to hang out, glad to hear things are going well and seemed to have worked out, i am soaking up unemployment like a plant soaks in the sun, stay gold Ginny stay gold.

Leave a Reply

