“Oh baby you’re the only thing in this whole world that’s pure and good and right”

(If you’re counting, and wonder what happened to Day 12, I’ll tell you what happened:  Day 12 was fracking lame.  A Song from a Band You Hate.  Well you know what?  I don’t really HATE any band.  I just don’t.  So I didn’t.  So there.)

When I was 4, I used to love, LOVE sitting at the kitchen table, listening to 8 tracks.  On the blue 8 track boombox, with a pair of sweet headphones the size of, well, my head.

My Uncle Bob kept me supplied with a nice cache of KISS, his girlfriend hooked me up with some sweet ABBA tapes.

But my favorite, the one that I wore right the hell out:

I don’t think I really looked all that closely at the cover art, thank christ.  And I don’t think I really got what the lyrics were all about.  But I loved it, all the same.

And to this day, I wonder how many of my ideas about relationships came directly from the melodrama belted out by a sweaty long haired dude.

I understood, at a certain point, that it was wicked cheesy.

But if I’m going on a long road trip (by myself), this is still my poison of choice.

Day 13- A Song that is a Guilty Pleasure

Bat Out of Hell – Meatloaf

11 responses to ““Oh baby you’re the only thing in this whole world that’s pure and good and right”

  1. I LOVE Meatloaf! I love even more the fact that you don’t hate any bands! So much of the music I listen to now shows a direct influence from what my aunts and uncles listened to. (I’m so glad they were into stuff like Zeppelin, rather than the Osmonds! smiling)

  2. Meat Loaf is just brilliant. And so are you.

  3. Two words- Jim Steinman.

  4. Paradise by the Dashboard Light.

    So cheez but so fun, and it was very big in the Netherlands.

  5. 8 tracks – OMG! Loved them! Meatloaf is still one of my favorites but mostly because I loved the videos on MTV (you know – back when they actually played music videos!).

  6. Okay, I must ask….just what is that blue boom box thing in the picture?

  7. Oh my how naïve I’ve been. I thought these were your titles. Now that I lost the blindfold, I have no compunction expressing my scorn over some of these unimaginative titles, of late. I will complete the month. But the next 2 weeks I’m going to re-tool my titles away from the realm of insipid-n-repetitious-land. Starting today and henceforth!
    – Veach
    PS to Mikey: Obviously you read Ginny’s paragraph preceding the photo; you used her adjective (blue) and her noun (boombox). The answer you are seeking, young grasshopper, is within.

  8. Girl, I so could have given you suggestions for a band to hate. One word….Wolfmother.

    I was too young to own any Meatloaf until his later release, but that made me go looking for this older stuff which is damn awesome.

    He’s also a pretty good actor and I have sought out all his roles. My favorite ended up being in a movie called Formula 51 (also called The 51st State), even if his role was rather limited. Probably didn’t hurt that Samuel L. Jackson and Robert Carlyle (love him) were also in it.

  9. michael.offworld

    Cheeze-schmeeze, This record is FULL of amazing music. His vocal range, his power, what’s his name’s writing and arranging … totally the bar that all others are judged by!

  10. Yes, Veach, got it. I suppose I should be a little more specific with my question, or put it differently anyway:

    That blue boom box thing in the photo. What vintage is it? Because it sort of looks like something I could plug my iPod into and if so, I want one. :-)

  11. Why isn’t ‘poison of choice for a road trip’ on this list??? Someone needs to rewrite these categories.

Leave a Reply

