Wherein I Reveal How Truly Boring I Am

 

Chris at A Free Man is throwing an experiment.

 

He’s matching bloggers up, letting them interview each other.

 

I asked the questions at Southern (in)Sanity.

 

And now, Carrie from reconstructing fossils is trying to get straight answers out of me. Good luck, toots.

 

 

Have you ever had a blog stalker? Someone who kept leaving mean comments and wouldn’t leave you alone?

 

Knock on wood, no. I don’t think I’m polarizing enough to get mean comments. I also don’t come out strong on any issues. There are people who do it, and do it better than I can, so I leave it to them. I kind of wait to piss off some random nutter, some cat person who can’t take a joke, or a Nancy Grace Fan Club president, but so far, nothing.

 

Your blog persona is so funny and likable. Have you ever kept an anonymous, secret blog where you can let out all the mean, hateful thoughts (or for any other reason)?

 

(I Told That Bitch Not To… by Mo, in the 415)

 

 

I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over my husband’s maniacal laughter. I think what he’s trying to say is that he knows where the mean and hateful thoughts go. (I told him to suck it.)

 

When I started this blog, I didn’t really know how secretive I wanted to be about it. And then, when I’d go 2 or 3 days without a hit, I figured out that I wanted people to read it. And so I kind of decided that the blog would be like a conversation I’d have with a friend. As a result, wide swaths of my life never make it on here. I’m cool with that. Because lord knows I have my moments of TMI on here, too. 

 

I did try to start a secret blog. But I’m too lazy for two of them.

 

Have you ever used the word blogosphere?

 

Only accompanied by air quotes.

 

On the controversial subject of Mommy Bloggers, what do you REALLY think?

 

I read blogs by people who have kids. And blogs by people who don’t. Some mommy-bloggers won’t write past what’s going on with their kids, writing laundry lists of their kids’ activities, their schedule for the day, and, sometimes, even literal laundry lists. I don’t spend a lot of time on those.

 

Some people might classify me as a mommy-blogger. I don’t. My favorite classification of what I’m doing here is by The Only Livin’ Girl In New York, who lists me as a “Mommy-ish blog”.

I have kids. They’re awesome. But I don’t want to talk about them all the time. They don’t want to talk about me all the time, either, so we’re cool.

 

Were you ever voted “most-” anything in your school yearbooks? If so, what?

 

(Image from here.)

 

This question made me giggle. I went to a school that had 120 kids, Kindergarten-Grade 12. My graduating class consisted of 11 kids. (Of which I was the valedictorian, thank you very much.) So there wasn’t really an opportunity to be “most” anything. Our yearbooks were 10 page, soft-cover affairs. Whenever I meet up with people I haven’t seen in years, the one thing they manage to work into the conversation is something along the lines of, “Wow, Ginny, I just thought you’d be a doctor, or a lawyer, or….something. But hey, your kids are really cute.

 

You’re a fellow bibliophile! What book would you say has been most influential in your life, and why?

 

Oh man, I wish I was much more well-read, and a deeper person. But I’m not.

 

I’m going with “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving.

I read it when I was 11 or 12. Really, not it’s intended demographic. But I loved the shit out of that book. It was the first time I remember being conscious of the writing versus the story. And it’s the first time I remember seriously thinking that maybe I could create something like it (I used to be wicked optimistic). I still read it every couple of years.

 

And hey, I even married a guy named Owen. Coincidence? I think not.

 

How many questions are we supposed to ask?

 

Tee hee. I don’t know. I could go on forever. Thanks, Carrie, for the cool questions.

16 responses to “Wherein I Reveal How Truly Boring I Am

  1. I hope all these recent questions everyone is involved with doesn’t make us all too open. I’ve never had a real secret side, but I think I should start.

    For example, what am I hiding in my closet?

    Actually it’s year-old addressed, ready to be sent Thank You notes from the baby shower. I hate doing this stuff.

    But cool questions and answers. And don’t worry. All doctors are on hard drugs and all lawyers are depressed. Apart from my Honey. I hope.

  2. It’s been years since I read that book too, but I loved it at the time.

  3. I knew a guy called Owen (Eoghan) Meany.

    He was a right prick.

  4. Just the title made me want to check out that book.

    Great questions and answers. I wish someone would find me interesting enough to want to interview.

    Also – I like the way you describe your blog – like a conversation, because that’s very much what it’s like. You always post random funny stuff, and nothing overly personal.

  5. Thanks for the John Irving recommendation. I’ve never read it, and now I must . . .

  6. you’re don’t seem boring at all to me.
    it’s cool to have these ‘blind-interviews’ from people you barely know, no?
    i had no predictions about how you’d anwer the questions or how you’d feel about them.
    my biggest worry would be that you’d find the questions boring.
    anyway, i also went to a very small school and had those kind of yearbooks. don’t have them anymore. i don’t remember if i was voted anything but if i had been it’d probably have been “most stubborn”

    anyway, thank you for allowing me to interview you. twas fun! and now i have a new blog to add to my blogroll cuz i wanna come back. :-)

  7. prayer for owen meany (sigh)

    it’s been almost 3 years since i read it, and i’m due. again.

    love the ‘most likely to’ pic – damn. if i’d just scrubbed the toilets harder instead of getting baked and going to calculus class…

  8. People In The Sun: I actually kind of enjoy disappointing people. Turns their world upside down, if only for a second.

    Nurse: It’s the good stuff.

    Xbox: Can you blame him, carrying the name Meany around with him? Poor bastard.

    vinomom: Follow the link to Freeman’s blog, get on the interview train. You are totally interesting enough.

    Southern (in)Sanity: Thanks!

    tysdaddy: Dude, you simply must.

    Carrie: I really enjoyed it. And I liked lurking around your blog, too.

    daisyfae: Apparently, at that school, they knew the path to success is paved with brown noses.

  9. Just checking in for a laugh. Not at all disappointed either. :-)

  10. Pingback: Interview 2009 | A Free Man

  11. nice interview, and a prayer for owen meany i totally loved too. Have you read any of his others? I tried to start te life according to garp but couldnt get into it.

  12. I’m loving these so much! Great job.

    I was never voted most anything, and I’m still kind of bitter about it.

  13. writinggb: Good to hear from you!

    SSG: Thanks. Yes, I’ve read a few others (including Garp), but none of them quite compare, for me.

    Gypsy: Thanks! What would you like to be “Most-” of? You name it, I’ll start a campaign.

  14. good questions and good answers. It´s funny, I don´t think of you as a mommy blogger at all. I guess that term is kind of overused, cause there are plenty of non-mommy bloggers out there too that post laundry lists, which, zzzzzzz I´m sleeping.

    I loved a Prayer for Owen Meany.

  15. Agreed, Bluestreak.

Leave a Reply

